Our Investigators and Research Team

Dr. Elliot Israel is the Gloria and Anthony Simboli Distinguished Professor in Asthma Research and Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and the Director of Clinical Research in the Pulmonary and Critical Care Division at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston.  He directs the Brigham and Women’s Hospital Severe Asthma Program.
Dr. Israel’s research interests include severe asthma, using precision medicine to optimize therapeutic interventions, reducing disparities in asthma care, pharmacogenetic influences on treatment responses, and the role of fatty acid metabolites in asthma pathobiology. He has authored over 200 peer-reviewed publications and was a member of the USA NAEPP Committee examining the updated asthma guidelines. He has repeatedly been named to Boston Magazine’s Best Doctors and received the Harvard Medical School Daniel D. Federman Outstanding Clinical Educator Award. 

Juan Carlos Cardet, MD, MPH received his BS degree from Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts in 2004; medical degree from the University of Puerto Rico, San Juan, Puerto Rico in 2008; and master’s in public health degree from Harvard University, Boston, Massachusetts in 2017. He completed his internal medicine training at the University of Connecticut in 2011, where he was given the Maxwell O. Phelps, M.D. award for scholarship, and the Hartford Hospital Outpatient Clinic Resident of the Year Award. He completed his Allergy and Immunology training at Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Harvard University in 2014. He served as an instructor in medicine at Harvard Medical School, and as the assistant director of the Asthma Research Center at Brigham and Women’s Hospital from July 2014 until June 2017.
Dr. Cardet is an assistant professor in the USF Department of Internal Medicine. He specializes in the treatment of patients with asthma, chronic rhinitis, and other allergic and immunologic diseases. He is board certified in internal medicine and in A/I, and he is a fellow of the American College of Allergy Asthma and Immunology (ACAAI). He enjoys working with medical students, residents, and Allergy and Immunology fellows.
His translational research focuses on understanding the pathophysiology of severe asthma with the aim of identifying novel therapies. He was awarded in 2017 a K23 grant by the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) so that he can pursue this endeavor. More recently he was awarded in 2021 the AAAAI/American Lung Association (ALA) Allergic Respiratory Diseases Research Award to understand the impact of genetic variation in the RGS pathway on asthma severity outcomes, a first manuscript now accepted for publication in the Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology. He was also awarded in 2021 the American College of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology (ACAAI)’s Allergists’ Foundation Community Research grant to investigate the impact of telehealth vs in-person visits on asthma outcomes among Black and Latinx adults with moderate to severe persistent asthma. He is an investigator with the AsthmaNet, Severe Asthma Research Program (SARP), and PRECISE NHLBI research networks, and with the Airways Clinical Research Centers of the ALA. He is the co-chair of the executive and publications committees of the Patient Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI)-funded PREPARE trial, and co-first author of the trial’s primary results, published in April 2022 in the New England Journal of Medicine. He is a member of the most recent European Respiratory Society/American Thoracic Society taskforce on severe asthma.

Anne L. Fuhlbrigge, MD, MS serves as the Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs, University of Colorado School of Medicine, and Chief Medical Officer for University of Colorado Medicine, the physician practice organization of the School of Medicine. Dr Fuhlbrigge is also a member of the CU Division of Pulmonary Sciences and Critical Care. Medicine and practices in the Severe Asthma Program within the Comprehensive Lungs and Breathing Program, University of Colorado Hospital.
In addition to her clinical interest in asthma, Dr. Fuhlbrigge is a clinical epidemiologist, with research interests in obstructive lung disease and the factors that influence the growth and decline of pulmonary function. She has served on a number of Advisory and Expert panels, including Co-Chair of the Asthma Exacerbation Subcommittee of the Asthma Outcomes Workshop convened by the NIH/NHLBI and AHRQ and is a member of the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) Respiratory Measurement Advisory Panel.
After transitioning to Colorado, Dr Fuhlbrigge has been instrumental in the development, organization, and expansion of the community practice division within CU Medicine, including CU SOM presence at Highlands Ranch Hospital, Inverness Sports Performance, and Cook Street Medical Center and expansion of the Virtual Health program.  She led development of the CU asynchronous provider to provider program(eConsult) and combined the eConsult program with the Extension for Community Health Outcomes (ECHO) Colorado program to advance the Peer Mentored Collaborative Care Program. The PMCC facilitates outreach and delivery of the right care to the right patient in the right environment.
Dr. Fuhlbrigge is a native of Minnesota and holds a Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering from the University of Wisconsin, Madison. She completed her medical education at Washington University in St Louis School of Medicine before completing her Internal Medicine Residency program at the Barnes/Jewish Hospital program in St. Louis MO. She completed her fellowship training in pulmonary and critical care medicine in the Harvard, Brigham and Women’s/Beth Israel combined fellowship program in Boston MA, where she also completed a master’s degree in Clinical Epidemiology from Harvard School of Public Health.

Dr. Jennifer K. Carroll

Dr. Wilson D. Pace

Nancy E. Maher; Lilin She; Frank Rockhold; Brian K. Manning; Joel B. Shields; Jackie Rodriguez-Louis; Maureen Fagan; Paulina Arias Hernandez; Brianna Ericson; Jean M. Kruse; Victoria Forth

STUDY SITE INVESTIGATORS and STUDY SITE STAFF who helped with study implementation and recruited the population of interest
Andrea J. Apter; Ahmet Baydur; Paula J. Busse; Rafael A. Calderon-Candelario; Thomas B. Casale; Geoffrey Chupp; Michelle L. Hernandez; Laura P. Hurley; Sunit Jariwal; Elina Jerscow; David C. Kaelber; Sybille M. Liautaud; M. Diane McKee; Sylvette Nazario; Magdalena Pasarica; Victor Pinto-Plata; Isaretta L. Riley; Paul M. Stranges; Kartik Shenoy; Hazel Tapp; Jennifer Trevor

Tiffany Bendelow; Lauren Bielick; Michelle Campbell Hayes; Erika M. Coleman; Jose Diarte Ortiz; Lynn Fukushima; Nicole P. Grant; Hernidia Guerra; Hilde Heyn; Renita Holmes; Bryonna Jackson; Mary Jo Day; Sylvia Johnson; Tiffani Kaage; Claudia Lechuga; Carese Lee; Brianna M. McQuade; Kathleen Mottus; Melissa Navarro; Grace Ndicu; Angela Nuñez; Pamela Pak; Luzmercy Perez; Matias E. Pollevick; Walter Ramos-Amador; Patricia Rebolledo; Jennifer Rees; Sarah B. Romain; Benjamin J. Rooks; Jasmin Sanchez; Catherine R. Smith; Lindsay E. Shade; Bonnie Telon Sosa; Jeremy Thomas and Zinnia Valdes

Coordinators from the American Academy of Family Physicians and DartNet who provided operational and data support
Alicia Brooks-Greisen; Ileana Cepeda; Angie Lanigan; Cory Lutgen;  Elizabeth Staton; Carolyn Valdez; Shaddai Amolitos; Gabriela Gaona Villarreal

Asthma Research Center at Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Eva Fandozzi, Katarina S. Gentile, Meghan N. Le, Allison O’Neill, and Abigail Fairbanks Tulchinsky

Duke Clinical Research Institute
Michael Pencina and Karen Chiswell

Medical Writer
Julia Harder

Financial Manager
Donna J. Walsh

Patient Safety Officer
Craig P. Hersh